Good, But Not The Best

I have officially started my self-education in sewing! My lovely husband gifted me some patterns for Christmas (The Scout Tee by Grainline Studio and The Camber Set by Merchant and Mills) and I have a stack of fabric stashed away, so it was time to get sewing.

As a recovering perfectionist, it is so difficult to put the expectation of creating a perfect garment aside. Even though I know that this first attempt is just that – a first attempt, full of new skills and techniques and destined to be imperfect – I still can’t help but hope against hope that it turns out magically, wonderfully perfect in every way.

I was extra careful in every step. I put my sewing machine pedal on slow so that I couldn’t rush. I followed the instructions to the letter, and just did small sections at a time so that I wasn’t tired or burned out. I made a few little mistakes, and fixed them as I went. I told myself, time and time again, that it wouldn’t be perfect, and that is ok.

And you know what?

The finished product is good. Good, but not the best. And that is fine with me.

good

image via threadless.com

There are a few issues with it. The sleeves aren’t quite even in the gathering at the shoulder. The neckline is sitting funny, rolling out, and I’m not sure why. I’m hoping that a wash will help it to settle down. But the seams are straight, it is long enough in the body and it is an all-together wearable garment that I am pretty proud of. I’m looking forward to having another go at this pattern soon.

Have you made a Scout Tee? Any tips?

Leave a comment